The Dispensations


A period of time during which God deals in a particular way with man in respect to sin and man’s responsibility.


 The word “dispensation” means “administration” and is first found in 1 Cor. 9:17.

Each dispensation shows the wandering nature of man away from God.

The responsibility of man in each dispensation is to believe the Word of God and to obey Him.

First Dispensation—Innocence. Gen. 1:26-2:23 (unknown length)

Second Dispensation—Conscience. Gen. chapters 3-7 (1656 years)

Third Dispensation—Human Government. Gen. 8:1-11:9.  (427 years)

Fourth Dispensation—Promise. 11:10-15:21. (430 years)

Fifth Dispensation—Law. Ex. 19:5. (1491 years)

Sixth Dispensation—Grace. Eph. 2:8-9 (unknown)

Seventh Dispensation—Tribulation (Judgment). Rev. chapters 6-19. (7 years)

Eighth Dispensation—Millennial Reign (Kingdom). Mt. 24:29-30; Rev. 20:1-2 (1,000 years)


Each dispensation shows that evil is headed up in a person or persons

1.Satan and fallen man

2.Sons of God and daughters of men



5.Judas, Scribes, and Pharisees

6.Apostates (including modernism)




Each dispensation ends in a world crisis.

1.Expulsion of man from the Garden

2.The Flood

3.Confusion of Tongues

4.Bondage of chosen race

5.The cross of Christ

6.The Rapture of the Church

7.The wrath of God and the binding of Satan (tribulation judgments)

8.Fire from Heaven


In each dispensation God comes down.

1.God came down to the Garden

2God talked with Noah

3.God said, “Let us go down.”

4.“I am come down” at the burning bush

5.Incarnation of Christ

6.The Lord shall descend

7.Second Coming

8.Still upon earth to fight the last battle


*Each dispensation has a Citation, Limitation, Duration, Condition, Obligation, Transgression, Condemnation, Culmination, Prediction, and Correction/Instruction.